אחרונים – Latter authorities, literally, “Last Ones,” meaning Torah scholars who lived after the compilation of the Shulchan ‘Arukh in 1563, and continuing on to the present day. The Achronim were preceded by the Rishonim, former authorities of “First Ones,” c. 1038 CE -1563; by the Geonim, c. 650-1038 CE; by Hazal, c. 250 BCE-625 CE. A few well-known and impactful Acharonim, among many others, are R. Yosef Karo, Rema, Maharal, the Ari, Maharshal, Seforno, Radbaz, Siftei Kohen, Turei Zahav, Magen Avraham, the Gra, Chida, the Chatam Sofer, Netziv, R. Moshe Feinstein, and R. Ovadiah Yosef.

Related Entries